Two California reactors still down after blackout

The San Onofre nuclear power plant in Southern California reported to the NRC this morning that yesterday’s shutdown of its two reactors was the result of a “grid disturbance” due to a blackout caused by a transmission line failure in Arizona. However, even though power has been restored, the two reactors at San Onofre remain shut down this morning, according to both the NRC Event Report and the agency’s current Reactor Status Report.

The Event Report gives no indication that restart activities are underway or even planned. The report says that offsite power has been restored. This leads me to wonder if there was some additional problem at San Onofre which has kept the reactors shut down.

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in Event Reports, Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Plant shutdowns, Reactor problems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment