Another warning sign: EDF’s CFO resigns over Hinkley Point costs

Image result for hinkley point c nuclear power station

Expatica reported today:

The chief financial officer of French energy giant EDF, Thomas Piquemal, has resigned over a disagreement about the feasibility of an ambitious project to build Britain’s first new nuclear power plant in decades, a source close to the matter told AFP on Sunday, confirming a Bloomberg report.

“The chief financial officer presented his resignation last week to Jean-Bernard Levy (CEO) because of a disagreement over Hinkley Point,” the source said.

Construction estimates for the two new reactors have reached a staggering 18 billion pounds, which translates to 25 billion dollars.

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in EDF, Hinkley, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment