WIPP update: Samples were not taken during first week following radioactive release

wipp

I don’t know how to respond to this without cursing, so I’ll just say that Carlsbad television station KRQE reported yesterday:

It turns out it wasn’t until a week after the radiation leak at WIPP that state officials collected additional required air samples.

Days after the leak, surface-air monitoring was conducted beyond the site showing detectable trace amounts of radiation.

Why was the public placed in additional danger from the known airborne release of plutonium?

…state officials confirmed there were additional independent air sampling that was required of the state environment department during the first week.

Officials say it was never done because of a staff vacancy.

I may have to drink this one off….

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in Nuclear waste, Nuclear Waste Partnership, Radiation leak, Waste Isolation Pilot Plant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

