Yet another installment of: “Is it just me, or is this a stunningly stupid idea?”

World Nuclear News reported today:

The hull of SKB’s new ship for transporting used nuclear fuel and radioactive waste has been launched. Once outfitted, the M/S Sigrid is set to enter service in 2013, serving as a linchpin in Sweden’s nuclear infrastructure.

I won’t spend too much time ranting about the wisdom of shipping high level nuclear waste on the high seas and I don’t mean to belabor the obvious, but aren’t ships still subject to sinking?

There’s an old joke:

Passenger: “Captain, do ships like this sink often?”

Captain: “No, ma’m. Usually just once.”

Here’s a link to the WNN article: http://www.world-nuclear-news.org/NN-Sigrid_takes_to_the_water-2910124.html

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in Radioactive waste and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

