6.4 earthquake shakes northeast Japan

The Associated Press just reported:

A strong earthquake shook northern Japan on Tuesday, but no damage was reported and there was no risk of a tsunami.

The Japan Meteorological Agency recorded a 6.4 preliminary magnitude. The agency said there may be a small change in sea levels but did not issue tsunami warnings.

The epicenter was off the coast of Iwate and was about 10 kilometers (6 miles) below the sea surface.

Iwate is in the region heavily damaged by last year’s earthquake and tsunami.

Here’s a link: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/asia_pacific/strong-earthquake-rattles-northern-japan-no-risk-of-tsunami/2012/03/27/gIQAga2udS_story.html

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Japan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment