Event Report: VA nuke leaks coolant

The North Anna nuclear power plant in Virginia reported to the NRC today that the Letdown Pressure Control Valve in the Unit 1 reactor failed yesterday morning, resulting in a release of coolant to the Pressurizer Relief Tank. After the valve reseated, operators at North Anna determined that approximately 42 gallons of water were released during the event, causing the plant to enter an after-the-fact Notice of Unusual Event. Cause of the valve failure is under investigation.
 
North Anna had recently restarted both reactors at the plant after an August earthquake shut them down.

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a call center. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in Coolant leak, Event Reports, North Anna, Nuclear Regulatory Commission and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment