CNN to air story on older US nuclear reactors tonight

CNN will air an investigative report tonight on the 23 U.S. nuclear power plants that use the GE Mark I design, the type and age system that failed at Fukushima. (The picture above is of a 2007 cooling tower failure at Vermont Yankee, a GE Mark I reactor.) The piece is a segment on CNN Presents, which airs at 8 pm and 11 pm Eastern time.

One important thing to note is that all reactors are inherently unsafe, not just the GE Mark I. This is made clear in a statement from a GE official, carried on CNN’s web version of tonight’s story:

No nuclear plant could have avoided a meltdown after being swamped by a tsunami and losing power to cooling systems for an extended period of time, the company says….

Here’s a link to the print version: http://www.cnn.com/2012/02/17/us/us-nuclear-reactor-concerns/index.html

 

About Robert Singleton

By day, I work for a temp staffing agency. In my spare time, I try to save my hometown (and planet) from a nearly constant onslaught of greedheads, lunatics and land developers. I live in a fictional town called Austin, Texas, where I go to way too many meetings.
This entry was posted in GE Mark I reactor, Plant shutdowns, Reactor problems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

